Neutral Density
Neutral Density Podcast
Field Recording: Morning song of the Red-Winged Blackbirds
1
0:00
-2:26

Field Recording: Morning song of the Red-Winged Blackbirds

A few sounds of early spring in Western Montana
1

Today is Earth Day, so I’m releasing this little soundscape to everyone. Back in December, I posted some audio in which I boldly stated that there was more audio in the works. Well, it’s been a long winter. Just yesterday morning we awoke to a new dusting of snow. But the Red-Winged Blackbirds are nesting in the cattails near my house, so this morning, I sat and listened/recorded.

The birds quickly took notice of my microphone (which is covered in a furry “dead cat” to reduce wind noise.) They didn’t like the microphone, so I tried to hold it low to the ground where it would be less intrusive. This resulted in a bit of pole noise. There were a couple brief (but noticeable) gusts of wind as well. That’s the name of the game this time of year in Montana.

This recording was made on April 21, 2022, with a Rode NTG-2 shotgun mic with a Rycote dead cat on a boom pole. Recorded on a Zoom H4N recorder.

As with any field recording, I recommend listening with headphones if you have them. I hope you enjoy.

Share

Neutral Density is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

1 Comment
Neutral Density
Neutral Density Podcast
Audio accompaniment to Neutral Density: Lost in America with Leland Buck. Field Recording and sound explorations of America's dusty corners.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Leland Buck